Is Pudding Gluten Free? Here’s Your Answer!

To make food that is healthy AND delicious. For me, when I make that dreamy combination in the kitchen, I consider it a winning game.

I am always in search for new ways to hit that combo.

Yes, combo. Sometimes I pick up on my youngster’s cool, modern expressions. I always embarrass them. It’s so much fun.

I always had a weak spot for sweets, and that’s why I always look for ways to swoop in a good dessert on the kitchen table.

Mm, when I think of pudding, I think of that softly-melting sensation on my palate. A jiggly, fun meal for my kid’s smile…They always love it. They always ask for more.

But, since I am so careful about the amount of gluten that we consume, I stopped to wonder about pudding’s structure.

Is it healthy? Are there types of pudding that are healthier than others?

And finally, is pudding gluten free?

Gluten Free or Not?

I can bring you the good news now, for all of you that are on a gluten-free diet. Yes, it is gluten-free!

Wow, this simple dessert keeps finding new ways to rock my world.

It doesn’t contain any of the well-known gluten-rich ingredients, such as wheat.

When it comes to Kraft products, they follow their amazing Kraft’s easy-to-use gluten-free policy. They are really careful about making their products gluten-free through every stage of production process.

Also, we can rely on them listing any ingredients that contain gluten. It is very helpful. I find it useful when I am shopping.

These manufacturers will make sure that the products don’t get in touch with gluten during growing, transportation process or manufacturing procedures. That’s a relief!

There is a Catch, Though

It gets a little bit confusing here. Get ready.

Although there are no pudding ingredients that are considered to contain gluten and although Kraft manufacturers are so careful with their production methods, they still don’t label it as a gluten-free product.

But, how come?

To make the product more visually appealing and more flavorsome, they add some food-coloring adds to the original ingredients. Kraft points out that some of these food-coloring ingredients are from suppliers that haven’t specified if their products are gluten-free or not. So, they can’t guarantee that pudding is 100% gluten-free. They can’t speak for them.

Why is it important to point out that it is gluten-free?

Some of these manufacturers make different products. Sometimes, some left-overs from other products stay in the parts of the machines. During production process, they sometimes get mixed with other products.

So, traces of wheat, rye or barley can sneak into your gluten-free pudding. That’s why strict rules and guidelines are important if you want to be certain when labeling your product.

Be Careful with Labels

All of the different types of pudding are available in your gluten-free diet. It doesn’t matter is it JELL-O Gelatin, Cook & Serve Pudding or Instant Pudding. It doesn’t matter what the flavor is.

But it matters what the brand is. There are different ways of production, different ingredients included that each brand uses.

Be careful when you are food-shopping. Always read the label carefully, always check the ingredients list. Or you could contact the manufacturer itself.

Sometimes, those list ingredients are so long, but usually manufacturers simplify it for us. They point out special terms on their packaging.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s policy is that if a product has less than 20 parts per million of gluten, then it has an allowance to label their product as “gluten-free”. If they have the label, then you are safe to eat it.

Also, be aware of different add-ons. Sometimes, modified corn-starch that contains gluten can be added to the pudding. And, as I noted before, coloring and flavoring adds are a risk to be aware of.


Level of Gluten Sensitivity

Lowering the level of gluten we insert into our bodies has changed my life for better. Energy level has been visibly boosted for each member of my family.

There are so many well-known ways of gluten affecting your health. Many of you probably already experienced it. Remember those annoying headaches, constant dizziness and uncomfortable digestion problems, such as gas, bloating, diarrhea and even constipation? Not to mention, the constant feeling of low energy and tiredness.

You don’t even have to be gluten-intolerant to feel the difference.

We sure do all want to avoid these bad effects.

But, we can relax when it comes to pudding. There is a high certainty that it is gluten-free. So, most of us can eat it without a worry on our mind.

Only the most sensitive ones should be cautious. Even with these minimum amounts of gluten, you may experience some painful cramps, gas or bloating in your abdomen. You might even experience diarrhea. So, if you are very sensitive, you should consider these risks.

Also check out: Are Tamales Gluten-Free Or Not?


Pudding Ingredients and World of Varieties

Some main ingredients that pudding consists of are: sugar, milk, gelatin, eggs, rice

But there are so many varieties of pudding. That makes it even more interesting and appealing. A whole rainbow of pudding cups.

This dish is loveable by people all over the world, so we could explore so many different recipes of it through different cultures.

Pudding may not be famous for it, but it can also be a salty dish. For example, you can make a cheese pudding. It kind of resembles a soufflé. And no, it’s not a cheesecake.

There is also an unusual pudding coming from Sussex, England. It is a salty pudding made of diced beef steak and lamb's or pig's kidney pieces. It’s served as a main course. I recommend it some of you that love experimenting and adding some edge to your meals.

But, let’s go back to desserts. This is what are stomachs crave for right now. There is a beautiful, colorful, wide range of puddings.

Some of the healthiest ones are Orange Lavender pudding with Cashews, Chocolate Zucchini Breakfast Pudding or Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding.

Rice pudding is also a type that I recently became fond of. It is made from rice and milk or water and I always add a little bit of cinnamon or raisins to spice it up.


Gluten-Free Dessert Exist, But Stay Cautious

Okay, in conclusion, pudding is a dessert that we can add to our gluten-free diet. Wonderful!

And as I explained, Kraft products are especially known to be cautious about keeping it gluten-free.

But, it is always recommended to check the label and the list of ingredients. Especially if you are really sensitive to gluten. So, stay cautious and keep yourself alert when food-shopping.

All this talk about pudding is making me want one! I am going to make it right now.

All that is left now to choose is the flavor. I’m thinking Lemon Delicious Pudding for today.

What about you, what is your favorite one? Banana Pudding or a Classic Vanilla Pudding with some raspberries? Have you tried Vanilla and Chocolate Avocado recipe?

If you have a sweet tooth, like me, check out some more yummy desserts from my recipe book!

I’m heading to kitchen right now, I can’t wait any longer.

Enjoy your gluten-free, delicious pudding!

Barbara Whitney
 

For the last 20 years, I’ve been cooking, preparing, researching, and gathering recipes, tools, and knowledge about food and the way we prepare it. Raising two lively boys and spoiling one great husband later, it’s safe to say that I’ve optimized my kitchen to deliver the best possible meal, no matter the occasion.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: